Lara Somogyi: Exclamation


Lara Somogyi

  • US$26.99
    Delivery from US$10.63

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 23 September 2022
Product code
Vinyl LP
Mercury KX

‘!’ (pronounced ‘Exclamation’) is the debut album from MercuryKX’s latest signing, electronic artist and harpist Lara Somogyi.

With ‘!’, Somogyi builds a new creative sound world – an atmosphere – based around the harp, its expressive capabilities and electronics. It is the result of a decade’s long dive into sonic exploration, which pushes the harp to its furthest potential. Here, we are introduced to a whole world of sound from a single instrument.

The LA-based musician and composer explains, “Every single sound you hear on the album comes directly from the harp. I wanted to express everything this instrument can do.”

For Lara, the release of ‘!’ revolves around further hyper-creative deviations from traditional harp techniques. Somogyi put blu-tack onto the strings. She used a bow. In one instance, a milk frother is used. There are deep layers of texture throughout, manipulating the harp into new frontiers. ‘!’ is like a journey. Moving from trance-like strings on album opener ‘ªåcceptances’, through to glitched-out patterns on a later track like ‘aviary’, ‘!’ bridges the gap between the electronic and classical worlds with ease and brings many of the senses into play.

1 ªåcceptances  
2 in/Out  
3 ||basis||  
4 interior gar∂ens  
5 hundred00  
6 breath≈work  
7 llodges  
8 aviary